Santa Monica Electric Bike Accident Lawyer
Hit by a Car while Riding an E-Bike in California?
Electric bikes, also known as e-bikes, motorized bikes, and mopeds, are becoming increasingly common in Santa Monica and the Westside. As their popularity grows, so does the number of accidents involving electric bikes. When an electric bike rider is hit by a car, serious injuries can result.
There is much confusion about the laws that apply to e-bike riders in California. Are e-bike riders required to comply with the laws that apply to motorists or bicycle riders? The Santa Monica bicycle accident lawyers at McGee, Lerer & Associates have a comprehensive understanding of this area of law and stand ready to help if you or a loved one has been injured.
Injured in Santa Monica or the surrounding communities? Call (310) 231-9717 to begin pursuing the fair compensation you deserve.
Definition of an E-Bike under California Law
California Vehicle Code Section 406(a) defines a "moped" or "motorized bicycle" (aka electric bike or e-bike) as capable of no more than 30 mph on level ground with:
- Fully operative pedals for human propulsion, or
- A motor producing less than two gross brake horsepower and an automatic transmission, or
- An electric motor, with or without pedals for human propulsion
Not sure if you have a case? Call McGee, Lerer & Associates today to schedule your free initial consultation.
The Law that Applies to Electric Bikes in California
In California, e-bikes are essentially treated as bicycles under the California Vehicle Code. Electric bike riders are exempt from many of the laws that apply to cars and motorcycles.
Are E-Bike Riders Required to Have Insurance in California?
Under California Vehicle Code Section 406(b), electric bike riders are not required to comply with California's financial responsibility law. E-bike riders are not required to have liability insurance.
Are E-Bike Riders Required to Wear a Helmet in California?
Under California Vehicle Code Section 406(b), electric bike riders are required to wear a properly fitted and fastened bicycle helmet.
Age Requirement for Electric Bike Riders in California
California law requires that electric bike riders be at least 16-years-old.
Have you or a loved one been hit by a car or truck while riding an electric bike? Contact the Santa Monica bike accident attorneys at McGee, Lerer & Associates for a free consultation today.